Untitled Part 1

Every time I start one of these posts – which albeit is rare these days – I spend so much time working out what the title’s going to be that I forget to actually blog. I’m sick of that so what you’ll be getting now is a stream of ‘Untitled’ posts. I’m not really fussed if you read them, quite frankly I doubt I’m going to spend more than 20-30 seconds checking my spelling prior to posting (oh right, spellcheck.)

Speaking of Spellcheck, do you ever find yourself looking for the little red underlines on the rare occasion you pick up a – gasp – pen and piece of paper and can’t for the life of you remember how to spell…let’s say…’focused’. The disappointment quickly dissipates when you realise you can just type that shit into your mobile phone SMS application and let the little red underline come back there.

What an age we live in, isn’t it fantastic? Not only can we not use our own intellect when writing on a piece of paper – something that would already be obsolete if it wasn’t for people’s inability to change their modes of thinking – but we carry mobile devices that allow us to not think from the moment we wake up until the moment our head hits the pillow that we’ve probably purchased online via said handheld device.

My vitriol isn’t anything new, it’s actually about as obsolete as the pen and paper. But I, like every other tortured idiot that sees the mess that we made on our lovely planet, needed an outlet.

Don’t get me wrong, I love modern technology – but in saving the planet with less paper, we’re destroying our souls and intellect with social ineptness, and stagnation of original thought.

~ by lechatnoirmon on January 29, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
